• DSC 1191
  • DSC 1191
  • ARK
  • Landaus4
  • P1000869
  • P1000871
  • DSC 0621B

Home Page

Welcome to Kingston Synagogue

Steeped in history, Kingston’s association with Royalty dates back to Anglo-Saxon times when seven kings were crowned here in the 10th century.

You will be assured of a warm welcome at our shul, the focal point and spiritual centre for our vibrant, friendly community of approximately 325 members, affiliated to the United Synagogue.

Latest News

Congratulations to Rabbi & Rebbitzen Landau on the birth of a baby girl, Yiska, Friday 28 March

****************************

We have important information from the Hospital Kosher Meals Service Pesach arrangements please click here.

 Monday May 5th  at 6.30pm  Yom Ha'atzma'ut, Israel's Independence Day.

We are so happy to welcome back Shir, a well known and much in demand live band.The evening will begin with a short service for Yom Hazikaron and will be followed by lively communal singing and dancing.

 A big crowd and an amazing atmosphere  is guaranteed and it will be fun for all ages. Israeli food will be served.  Adults £10.00, Children and students free.

Latest web site updates

The April 2014 What's on in S London is available at: Information; South London E-Bulletin

There is a an April 10th Israel Update if you click on the Israel Update tab

The latest Ostrava Newsletter #35 is under Community; Ostrava added 3 March 2014

The entry on this site for getting kosher food in South London has been updated 31 March 2014. See "information" then "Kosher food outlets".

Some of our clubs and groups: Learn about the Kingston Jewish Day Centre (Riverside Club), Israeli dancing, the KYM Social Group, League of Jewish Women, Kingston WIZO and South London Israel Forum by selecting "Community" then "Clubs and Groups"

____________________________





 

 

Service Times

Sunday 13 April: 8am; Search for Chametz after 8.41pm

Pesach Night of Apr 14th - Tue Apr 22nd 15 Nisan - 22 Nisan

Please note - the commandments of the Seder (4 cups, matza, maror, retelling of the Exodus) should not be fulfilled until after nightfall.

Monday 14 April (Fast of the Firstborn): 6.45am
(followed by siyum)

Light candles 7.41pm
Service 7.00 pm [correction from previous time]
Mon 14 April: Mitzvot (commandments) of the seder to be fulfilled after 8:47pm

Tuesday 15 April

Services 9.30 am and 7pm; light candles and mitzvot after 8.47pm

Wednesday 16 April service 9.30 am and 7.45 pm; yom tov ends 8.49pm

Thursday 17 April: 6.45am
Friday 18 April – Morning: 8.30am (Bank Holiday)7pm

19 Nissan 5774; 18-19 April 2014
PARASHA: Shabbat Chol Chamoed
Shabbat comes in 7.48 pm and ends 8.55 pm

Saturday 19 April: 9.30am

Sunday 20 April service 7pm; light candles 7.51pm

Monday 21 April services 9.30 am and 7pm; light candles after 8.58pm

Tuesday 22 April service 9.30 am; yomtov and Pesach end at 9.00 pm

Friday 25 April: 7pm

26 Nissan 5774; 25-26 April 2014
PARASHA: Kedoshim (Mevorachim Hachodesh)
Shabbat comes in 7.59 pm and ends 9.08 pm

Saturday 26 April: 9.30am

If you can help with Minyanim, please contact:
Sundays - Anthony Cowen This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Thursdays - Ian Patchick This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

_____________________________

Dates for your diary

The Rabbi, Board and Ladies Guild are working on many more exciting events for the next few months. Watch out for more details to follow but diary dates are below:
 
Monday 5 May (Bank Holiday) Yom Ha’atzmaut Party in Shul, from 6.30pm. with band Shir
Tuesday 6 May Table tennis 7.30-9pm
Saturday 10 May Ladies Guild Shabbat
Monday 12 May Ladies Guild AGM, 8pm. with guest speaker Daniel Saunders, Chief of Staff, Trade & Economic Affairs, Embassy of Israel
Wednesday 21 May Shul AGM 8pm
Shabbat 24 May Shabbat Shalom Programme in Shul, followed by HOT KIDDUSH
Tuesday 27 May Mind Matters lecture by the Rabbi, ‘Mental health / Soul sickness’, 8pm in Shul
Wednesday 28 May Ladies Israeli dancing 8 - 9.45pm
Thursday 29 May Table tennis 7.30-9pm
Tuesday 3 June First night Shavuot, communal dinner and learning, 7:30pm in Shul
Monday 9 June Table tennis 10.30am till 12.00pm
Shabbat 21 June ‘Shabbat Shalom’ programme, ‘The Hot Topic’, followed by HOT KIDDUSH
Tuesday 24 June Mind Matters lecture by the Rabbi, ‘Religion’s Opium’, 8pm in Shul
Sunday 29 June Rabbi and Rebbetzin Landau’s Induction, afternoon, with Chief Rabbi Mirvis
Sunday 13 July - 7pm Ladies Guild Annual Dinner featuring a GIZMO QUIZ with quiz-master Maurice Collins - 'Weird Inventions, Devices, Gadgets and Everyday Technology' £25pp, full meal and wine. RSVP now to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

 

______________________________